Real Foods Cooking Marathon

Fermented Ginger Carrots  ::  Fish Stock  ::  Pinto Beans

Pork Loin  ::  Kombucha  ::  Beet Salad  ::  Applesauce

We went to the grocery store yesterday.  I used to love going to the grocery store, but for the past few years…I don’t know…it’s lost its luster.  It takes so much time, and I always forget something or end up not using all of what I got.  To combat that, I started getting less, and it became the same boring things.  With me, it’s either a gourmet meal plan or totally flying by the seat of my pants.

But for the first time in a long time, we had a good, solid grocery trip.  Maybe it’s because we are trying to heal one of Mustard Seed’s cavities through diet, and the restrictions have been hard on her, especially on Saturday when we had the 1-2 punch of a birthday party followed by Mexican food out with family, which ended in tears.

I need to do a whole post on dental stuff, but the quick summary is that we had two truly horrible visits to the dentist last year at which we discovered that Mustard Seed doesn’t do very well at the dentist.  And by that I mean mortal fear that has led that dentist to refuse to work on her without general anesthesia.  So we are trying to manage the remaining cavity that was not able to be filled through diet–and by that I mean, not just arresting the decay but actually remineralizing and healing the damage that’s been done.

I first read about Weston Price doing this back in the 1930s, and read Ramiel Nagel’s book, Cure Tooth Decay: Heal and Prevent Cavities with Nutrition, last spring. Nagel was able to heal his daughter’s cavities using the protocols described in his book, but these proscribe any kind of sugar and grain, even if the grain is soaked, and even limited fruit and honey.  These days you can find a lot of grain- or gluten-free recipes and a lot of sugar-free recipes, but it’s hard to find much that feels like a “treat” that has neither.

I’m going to find it very difficult to keep her strictly limited to what Nagel suggests, but I remind myself that Weston Price healed 95% of cavities in the children he treated on just one nutrient-dense meal per day.  The rest of the time they went home and ate the same junk as usual! I’m also encouraged that I think I already see an improvement in the state of the two affected teeth over two weeks ago, when I first saw a visible cavity on them.

Maybe that’s why I was so anxious to fill our house with tasty, allowable food.  I found some buckwheat colored spiral pasta (buckwheat is not actually a grain and doesn’t even require soaking, according to WAPF, quinoa crackers, sprouted bread  (not strictly Nagel-approved, I know), as well as several cheeses, some oysters, and some vegetables she loves.

When we got home, I decided to make a day of it and turn our purchases into some good real food, ready to be eaten.  First I made some Fermented Ginger Carrots from Nourishing Traditions, but since I can’t make any whey until I get some more raw milk, I doubled the salt, which should work okay but may take a little longer.

I set these pinto beans to soak.  I’m going to fix them up with some cilantro, tomato, garlic, maybe some epazote, and a little nitrite-free bacon or sausage or a beef rib wouldn’t do badly in there either.

Hmmm…bell pepper.  We go through these like apples at our house!

I set about 7 or 8 slices apples in the crock pot, waited 5 or 6 hours and added some cinnamon and nutmeg.  That gave us a quart of applesauce for snacks.

And then I attempted something that’s been on my To-Do List for a long time: fish stock.  I’ve had this snapper carcass sitting in the freezer for a long time.  A little of this every day, with some seaweed added in at the end, is supposed to be great for thyroid health.  Since I’m hypothyroid, you better believe I paid attention to that!  It turned out a little vinegary because I forgot to add less, since I was only using 1 carcass, whereas the recipe calls for 3 or 4.  Not bad on the whole, though, and now I feel more confident handling fish heads and the like.  Yes! the heads are integral to its health-giving properties.

Not pictured, but also delicious were 2 pork loins I slow-cooked in the oven with just powdered garlic, salt and pepper on them.  So tender!  And then I wrapped it up by starting a 1.5 gallons of kombucha and making a shaved beet salad that Mustard Seed loves. Now we are all stocked up and happy!

Leave a Reply

